2014 JFMIP Scantlebury Award

photo (2)

The JFMIP Scantlebury award was established in 1971 to recognize senior financial management executives for distinguished leadership in financial management in the public sector over a number of years. In 1981, the award was designated as the Donald L. Scantlebury Memorial Award in honor of the Chief Accountant of the GAO and the Chairman of the JFMIP Steering Committee.

The 2014 recipients of the Donald L. Scantlebury Award are:
Robert F. Hale, Under Secretary of Defense (Controller), Department of Defense
The Honorable Robert F. Hale has been an exemplary leader in Federal financial management for more than three decades, with a focus on defense financial management. He has demonstrated leadership in government organizations including the Congressional Budget Office, the Air Force, and the Office of the Secretary of Defense. While serving as Undersecretary of Defense (Controller), Mr. Hale succeeded in making significant improvements in financial processes within the Department of Defense. Mr. Hale also made substantial improvements to human capital management with his emphasis on the financial management workforce during his tenure as Air Force Assistant Secretary (Financial Management and Comptroller) in the 1990’s and later while serving as the Executive Director of the American Society of Military Comptrollers through the creation of the Certified Defense Financial Manager (CDFM) program.
Danny Werfel, Former Controller of the Office of Management and Budget and Acting Commissioner of the Internal Revenue Service
Throughout his career in public service, Danny Werfel transformed Federal financial management. He has accomplished this transformation through his strong leadership and policy. He took a straight approach to issues faced by the nation and led the Federal financial community through some of the Nation’s most trying and difficult moments. Mr. Werfel‘s commitment to Government employees and to the broader public drove him to do what is necessary to help restore faith in our financial systems. Among his most notable accomplishments are the modernization of Federal Financial Systems; implementing the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009; spearheading efforts to reduce improper payments; and freezing the Federal government’s real property footprint.