CFOC Members honored as Gears of Government Award Recipients

We’re excited to share that several teams and individuals from across the government have been named Gears of Government Award winners on behalf of the CFOC! Their stories can be found on the Hall of Winners page on Each winner nominated by the CFOC  has made significant efforts to improve financial management in pursuit of a more effective government.

Throughout the year, Federal employees nominated teams and individuals across the Federal workforce for a Gears of Government Award whose performance and dedication deliver key outcomes for the American people, including mission results, customer service, and accountable stewardship. Congratulations to the following recipients, who exemplify the hard work and innovation essential to achieving the President’s vision for a modern, effective government.

Help us recognize your colleagues – use #GearsofGovAwards when sharing their stories!

Team Award Recipients:

HHS, NASA, NSF, Ed (Yolanda Jones, Lakisa Carter, Alexander Wynnk, Carolyn Beins, Christos Motsiopoulos, Chuck Laster, and Richard Brundage) – Modernized and digitized grants management across government. The team’s efforts allow grant recipients to spend more time and effort on driving results in areas such as public health, science, infrastructure, and economic development.

SBA (Nathaniel Reboja, Emily Knickerbocker, Blake Hoing, Michael Scott Holland, Sunil Varghese) Led SBA’s implementation of the DATA Act, which provides transparency to the public, helps identify risk, improves services, and facilitates data-driven decisions to improve how SBA serves small businesses.

Individual Award Recipients:

Gerard Badorrek (GSA)Improved the structure, business management and processes, operations, and culture of the GSA’s financial management shop. Gerard’s work resulted in more than 50,000 hours that can be redirected to higher-value mission work.

Gisele Holden (NSF)Led the implementation of robotic processing automation to allow employees to spend more time on achieving mission outcomes.

David Horn (HHS)Led a government-wide coalition to improve federal spending data and increase accountability, performance, and efficiency through implementation of the DATA Act.

These teams and individuals will share their accomplishments and best practices at the CFOC meeting on April 16th to help advance the goals of the financial management community.

All agency and council award winners are under consideration for the President’s Award, which will be announced in May as part of Public Services Recognition Week.

To learn more about these outstanding public servants and their fellow recipients, visit the Hall of Winners page and stay tuned as their stories are highlighted on the blog, Twitter, and LinkedIn pages.